Our Past and Present
The original St John’s School dates from 1864, when it was to be found in premises in the centre of the town, on part of the site now occupied by the St John’s Centre. For the following 100 years, St John’s School – on one site or other – provided an education for children of Catholic families all over Perth and beyond.
By 1938, St John’s School was located in Stormont Street. This building was regarded as very modern for its time. It was extended in 1968 and had been renovated in recent years.
However, by the mid-1960’s, numbers had become so large that St John’s gave birth to two newcomers, St. Columba’s High School (1967) and Our Lady’s Primary School (1968).
Built in 1966, St Columba’s High School was officially opened on 11th April 1967, when the school moved from the combined primary and secondary St John’s School in Stormont Street to Malvina Place in Muirton. After this time, St John’s remained in Stormont Street as a primary school.
In March 2010, the secondary pupils moved into the new campus for the first time under the leadership of Mrs Audrey May. In November 2011, the nursery and primary pupils joined their secondary counterparts at North Inch Community Campus.
In 2015-16, our 3-18 all through school expanded to include children aged 2 as part of Perth and Kinross Council’s Strong Starts programme.
While St John’s RC Academy is a new school, it is one with a rich history. In many ways, the school has come full circle with the reestablishment of an all through Catholic school in Perth under the patronage of St John the Baptist. Of course, the story of St John’s is not complete without also mentioning the family of primary schools who work closely with us: St Dominic’s Primary School in Crieff, St Stephen’s Primary School in Blairgowrie and Our Lady’s Primary School in Letham, Perth.