Skip to content

2019 Senior Achievement Ceremony

This year’s Senior Achievement Ceremony for S3-6 was celebrated on 5 June 2019, with Mr Hugh McAninch, former Depute Headteacher of St John’s Academy and now Headteacher of Baldragon Academy, as our keynote speaker.

The evening was hosted by Dr Robert Staines, DHT, with music provided by the school orchestra and the cast of ‘Me and My Girl’, this year’s school show. Dr Staines welcomed our students, families and special guests to this year’s event. Special guests included Provost Dennis Melloy; the Convenor of the Lifelong Learning Committee, Cllr Caroline Shiers; local councillor, Cllr Chris Ahern; Mgr Hendry; Canon Steven; Canon Tom and our chair and vice chair of the Parent Council, Donna Ploetner and Nicky Tolmie.

Hugh McAninch addressing the school

The evening began by applauding our young people, and highlights of the year were shown. You can view this here.

Mr Seán Hagney gave the Headteacher’s address highlighting the many achievements of our learners over the past year, and the many successes for the school. This included the recent Extended Learning and Achievement Visit follow-up, when the school received the feedback that our strengths are ‘going from strength to strength’ and we are making good progress on our next steps. Mr Hagney also shared a video of the ‘leavers’ best bits’, which you can see here.

Our keynote speaker, Hugh McAninch, addressed our pupils by talking about his own inspiring learning journey, from YTS joiner apprentice to university and into teaching. His advice to our young people came from the advice his grandfather gave to him: “Whatever you do, no matter what it is, do it to the best of your ability”.

Our departing Head Girl and Boy, Roisin Murphy and Matthew Oates, welcomed our new senior pupil team, represented by our new Head Boy and Girl, Jack Martin and Anna Wilkie. In their speeches, Roisin and Matthew spoke powerfully about how the school had shaped them into young adults, with the support of their parents, staff and peers.

Patrick Col Young receives his Dux medal from Provost Dennis Melloy

Of course, the central part of the evening was the giving and receiving of awards, with the awards being given out by Mr Hagney and special guests, including Mrs Pauline Ward. At the end of the evening, Provost Melloy awarded Conall Doogan the Proxime Accessit, with Patrick Col Young being awarded the Dux of the school. The House Cup was announced on the night. This year’s House Cup winner is St Margaret House.

Congratulations to all our award winners.

For our full list of S3-S6 prizewinners for 2018-19, click here.

Piper Jack Liddell ends our evening with our school hymn to the tune of ‘Highland Cathedral’